Kale Salad

cows drinking from pond

Cows enjoying their escape!

After a summer rain, the tantalizing smell of the growing corn drives our cows a little bit crazy! They find the green lushness of it impossible to resist and will break through fences, whether barbed or electric, to take a munch.  Cows most often break out of their fences when hardworking farmers just settle down to a snooze after a long day in the hot sun.  I can’t really blame them because when I walk by a field of corn on a summer evening, when the aroma is at its height, I can’t breath in the sweetness of it deeply enough.

midsummer corn

Tonight I was blessed to walk between a wheat field on my right and growing corn on my left.  I can’t find words to describe the intoxicating earthy aroma of ripe wheat to someone who has not smelled it before.  Without a doubt I was doubly blessed on my walk this evening and thought how true these words of Tasha Tudor’s were:

“….How beautiful this world is.  Supposing you only saw the stars once every year.  Think what you would think.  The wonder of it!” 

Since most of my healthy friends have begun eating kale and putting it in smoothies I decided to try some.  I’m embarrassed to admit I’d never eaten it before and had to go on the internet to find a good way to prepare it.  I’ve yet to put kale in my smoothie and feel the jolt of energy my daughters claim to get from them.  I’ll try it someday, but for today we enjoyed this salad at our house.

Kale Salad

To prepare and tenderize kale for salad, strip the leaf from the hard vein that runs up the middle, slice it thinly, and “massage” it with your hands.  If you pay attention, you can see it change to a darker green as it is massaged.

When you have prepared your kale, put it in a large salad bowl and add an avocado that has been diced into bite size pieces.  This isn’t a messy job if you cut the avocado while still in the skin and scoop it out with a spoon.

Add an English cucumber that has been cut in half, seeded and cut into bite size pieces.  Again, this is easy if you use a spoon to scrape out the seeds.  I salt the cucumber.

Add slivered almonds and candied ginger cut into small pieces.

Dress it with your favorite vinegar and oil dressing.

Kale Salad

You will be so healthy and full of energy, you will probably want to serve kale every day. Plus, you have the added benefit of doing your exercise for the day as you massage your kale!

Salads, like soups, are always your own, so put in the things you like to eat, not necessarily exactly what my recipe calls for.  Anything goes. You are the owner and inventor!

Leave a Reply

