Clay

I speak of my grandchildren often in my books. While you may have heard most often about Cortney, I do have eight others who are just as priceless. I will try hard not to sound too much like a bragging grandmother as I tell a little about each—it’s just that there’s nothing bad to say about any of them!

Clay in his camos then and now

Clay in his camos then and now

Clay is my oldest grandson and is smart, sweet and handsome.  Though he has had many girlfriends, none has ever been able to take the place of his first love – hunting.  If it were practical, I doubt he would ever leave the woods and could probably lay out some deer jerky and a sleeping bag in a deer stand and live there.  He does need to work some though and grew up working on our farm.

Here he is showing off a turkey he bagged early one spring morning.  Getting up at four on a chilly morning so he can be in place before turkeys leave their roost is no chore when there is a chance for him to bag game.

Clay is a gifted artist and most of his art manifests itself in his photography. I would never have the patience to sit in the woods and capture some of the stunning pictures he has taken of wildlife. The pictures he makes of ordinary farm scenes are also spectacular.  See if you agree about these photos of his here.

clay's cow

clay_coon

Clay’s photographs

One day when I had just taken a pan of these muffins out of the oven Clay dropped in after school. He was hungry and tried one, and another, and another until I decided I’d better take out a couple to save for Gerald’s and my supper as they were disappearing fast.  Warm muffins with a glass of cold milk are a nourishing and tasty treat after a long day at school.  Clay stayed a long time, leaning on the door frame and talking… And talking and talking.  I can’t remember anything of what we talked about but just how nice it was to have him comfortable and jabbering away in my kitchen while I worked.

muffin

Bran Muffins

Bran Muffins

¾  cup whole bran cereal          1 ½ cup flour
¼ cup wheat germ                     ½ cup sugar
1 cup milk                                   3 ½ t. baking powder
1 beaten egg                              ½ t. salt
¼ cup melted butter

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Combine cereal and wheat germ in a small bowl.  Pour on milk and stir until well blended.  Let stand 2 to 3 minutes.

Add egg and melted butter to cereal mixture and stir until well mixed.  Combine dry ingredients in another bowl.  Add bran mixture all at once and stir until all the flour is just moistened.  Do not over stir—too much mixing makes muffins tough.

Spoon batter into greased muffin cups.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes at 400 degrees.

Hint: I use my gravy ladle to fill muffin cups.  It’s neater, easier, and all of the muffins will be the same size.

2 thoughts on “Clay

  1. Thanks for the thoughts. Those moments are the ones we reach for out of the blue like a passing breeze that reminds us to smile and be grateful.

Leave a Reply

