Dandelions

little girl with dandelions

“Some see a weed. Some see a wish.” –Unknown

People spray their yards to kill these? I’d rather have a couple weeks of dandelions’ sunny blossoms and feathery seeds than lay down in my yard in the cool spring grass and be lying in the residue of 2, 4-D or MCPP spray. Though it’s generally believed that farmers are the top users of insecticides and weed sprays, it isn’t true. More weed control is used by Americans to make their yards landscape perfect than by all the farmers in the United States.

field with dandelions

One of our fields bordered by dandelions

I thought 2, 4-D was outlawed long ago and when I researched herbicides I was surprised to find it still on the market. It has been blamed for many things from cancer to hormone changes in the human body. Systemic selective herbicides like these are most effective and they go by various brand names including Speedzone, Momentum, and Trimec. The name of the most commonly used nonselective spray is Roundup. We’ve all heard of it, but “nonselective” means it will kill any plant it touches, including your grass. And then, if someone does get their yards lovely and weed-free, some maverick like me may just move in next door, and since I don’t use herbicides, the first sweet spring breeze is going to blow my little fluffy dandelion seeds right into their grass. Sorry!

“I was a dandelion puff….Some saw the beauty in me and stooped quietly to admire my innocence.”

–Nicole Bailey-Williams

. . .

My friend Beth and I both had a surprise one summer. As we sat sunning ourselves by our pond watching our children splashing in the refreshing water, I told her I had just learned I was pregnant again. Beth then confessed that she too was expecting, and our two babies, Ellen and Kate, lived less than one-half mile apart during all their growing up years and became best friends. They were both several years younger than their brothers and sisters so became very close as they traveled back and forth down the short stretch of road between our houses: first when Beth and I took turns baby-sitting to give each other a break; later when they cared for the little kittens at Ellen’s and when they fed calves bottles at our house; and later still, when they began to drive and probably got into some mischief it was better for us not to know about.

Eighteen years later at Ellen’s graduation party, Beth served this refreshing dessert that she gave me this recipe for.

Beth's Dessert

Layered deliciousness!

Beth’s Dessert

Melt 3/4 cup butter and stir in 1 ½ cup flour and 1/2 cup of walnuts. Pat gently into a 9×13 baking dish and bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool.

Beat together:
8 ounces of softened cream cheese
1 cup Cool Whip 1
1 cup confectioner’s sugar

Beat until fluffy and spread over cooled crust. Refrigerate for an hour.

Mix 2 packages of instant pudding and 3 cups milk and pour over cream cheese layer. (Beth used lemon pudding but it is equally delicious with chocolate.)

Cover with the rest of the Cool Whip and a sprinkling of walnuts.

Leave a Reply

